Inherit The Past And Inspire The Future

HKCA 100th Anniversary Gala Dinner

The theme of HKCA 100th Anniversary Gala Dinner is “Inherit The Past And Inspire The Future”. Humanity pass on knowledge to their decedents whilst exemplary role models pass on insights and lead their followers. In the ancient period, we named our exemplary model Lo Pan. Since the establishment of our Association, we are led by our forefathers who handed over the leadership generation after generation. Today, our next generation are YMS members and students in our HKCA PLK School.

****Due to the uncertainties caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and to further protect the health and safety of all participants, the Association has decided to postpone the Gala Dinner scheduled on 4 January 2021 (Monday) at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre until further notice.

Lo Pan Patron

Traditional sam hong workers worship a common deity, Lo Pan, who is revered the Master Craftsman. The Lilou chapter of the Book of Mencius sates: “Despite Li Lou′s sharp eyes and Master Gongshu′s skills, it is impossible to draw squares and circles without a compass and a ruler.” An expert in architecture and crafts, Lo Pan invented a good number of construction techniques and tools, namely the ruler, ink marker, plane and shovel, etc. Construction techniques invented by him included the bridge, pavilion, terrace and storied building, etc.

The first symbol of solidarity among Hong Kong′s sam hong workers was Lo Pan Temple built in 1884 at Ching Lin Terrace in Sai Wan - Kwong Yuet Tong. As there were not enough carpenters at the time, solidarity based on clanship or geographical origin was too weak to wield influence. To give a boost to these trades, they celebrated in a grand manner Lo Pan′s birthday on 13th June of the lunar calendar. The Chinese traditional value of honouring the teacher and respect truth were used as the foundation for the gathering, allowing the trades to widen their recruitment base. They forged alliances, helping and supporting each other.

In the west, there is similar icon of Lo Pan. Saint Joseph is a biblical figure who is believed to have been the corporeal father of Jesus Christ. St Joseph, the Worker is a patron saint of the catholic church. He is a carpenter who lived and worked in Nazareth. 

Thanks to Honorary Presidium

《承先啟後》

香港建造商會一百周年慶典晚宴

香港建造商會一百周年慶典晚宴以《承先啟後》為名,具人類歷史薪火相傳之意。每個年代均有表表者,啟發承傳下一輩。古時有魯班,在建造商會成立至今,歷屆領袖及先賢,都是由新一代接任。今天,我們有青年會,亦有商會學校學生,他們均是建造業的未來。

****鑑於新型冠狀病毒疫情帶來的不確定性,及進一步保障所有參加者的健康,商會決定延遲原訂於2021年1月4日( 星期一)假香港會議展覽中心舉行的世紀盛會,直至另行通知。

魯班先師

傳統三行,有一個公認尊崇兼具百工之首的師傅 - 魯班。《孟子離婁篇》:「離婁之明,公輸子之巧,不以規矩,不成方圓」,魯班精於建築及工藝,是多種建造技術及工具的創始人,包括尺、墨斗、刨及鏟等;建築技術方面有橋樑、亭台樓閣等。

始建於1884年的西環青蓮台魯班先師廟 - 廣悅堂,是三行從業員早期在香港團結的表徵。由於當時木行從業員人數不多,以氏族或地緣作團結基礎的勢力薄弱,為增加行業聲勢,每年農曆六月十三日業界大事慶祝魯班先師壽辰,以傳統文化中尊師重道的價值觀作為聚會基礎,擴闊招攬成員的範圍。彼此團結起來,締結同盟,互相幫助及支持。

在西方,也有像「魯班」的榜樣,天主教中的聖若瑟,是《新約聖經》記載中耶穌的養父,又稱為勞工的聖若瑟,以木匠手藝維生,並在拿撒勒過活,被天主教會傳統敬奉為聖人。 

鳴謝 榮譽主席團